Newbie Here....signed up at GASS

2»

Comments

• edited August 2021 0 LikesVote Down
    Welcome Kris and good luck with your endeavours.

I agree with you that they should issue a set of stamps for Neil Armstrong.

I have a story for you about a signed Fleetwood 1969 First Men on the Moon Apollo 11 First Day Cover. These are quite common covers but this one had a genuine Neil Armstrong signature on it! The cover came form a mixed lot of 3 albums of signed covers that I purchased at a bricks & mortar auction house with the purchase price of each signed cover coming in at around £1.00 including commission.

This was in late 2018 and I listed this cover on eBay for £850.00 and it sold within 2 days. I was very happy indeed - a very good return I thought? However a few months later I saw my signed first day cover again for sale but this time the sale price was over £2000.00?...............and it sold.

I had made a fundamental error - I listed it for sale in late 2018 but 2019 was THE FIFTY YEARS ANNIVERSARY OF THE MOON LANDING & WALK!!!!!!! and my Neil Armstrong signed FDC was even more sought after and sold for more!. I did not know whether to laugh or cry?

So the moral of this story (which might be of use to you?) is "research,research and research" before you list anything.

Have a great day!........................Tania

https://www.hipstamp.com/store/stampsfirst-day-covers-and-curios
  • Well, if I had a signed Neil Armstrong cover, I wouldn't be able to sell it
  • I was looking at it purely from a business point of view. In hindsight - you are right - I should have kept it.
  • You do have some nice British covers in your store. I'll probably be ordering a few.
  • edited August 2021 0 LikesVote Down
    Research, research.....Back in my previous life as an antiques dealer, I came across a US Navy discharge document for a seaman on the USS Utah from the mid 1920s. Didn't pay much for it, sold it for